Last Week in Chengdu

Tuesday, November 8th, three days left.

This morning I listened to the wake-up call of the men’s chorus knowing that soon I would not hear them any more. My time in Chengdu is going quickly. With my computer down, I try to keep connected through my tablet and cell phone, using them for my internet connections. But I have lost Jeremy’s phone and e-mail address. I have no way to contact him to say goodbye.

Luckily, Matt e-mailed me about setting up our visit to the vegetarian restaurant at the monastery. We agreed that Thursday would be the day, after my last language class.

Today is election day, and Matt will be watching the election results Wednesday morning at the Bookworm.

I went to my language class, set up a lunch for tomorrow with Jenna. I donated all my English-language magazines to the language institute (some 20 issues, including a year of Scientific American and my statistics magazines).

Today my lesson included current culture, a popular love song known by all Chinese (or so the young teacher told me). The English translation is “The Moon Represents My Heart,” but it is a poor translation, because the moon carries much more meaning in Chinese than in English. I prefer my own translation, “The Moon Speaks For My Heart,” but who am I to argue with thousands of expert translators?

yueliang-tabs

The Moon Represents My Heart

The song was made famous by Teresa Teng, a famous Taiwanese singer who died at age 42 from a severe asthma attack. Here is her version of 月亮代表我的心 (yuè liang dài biǎo wǒ de xīn) “The Moon Represents My Heart.” If ever there was a song I should learn to do for Chinese karaoke, this is it!

After class I stopped by the university store and bought more trinkets for the kids, then stopped by for my last visit to Wal-Mart. Goodbye, bar-coded live fish!

img_0796

Tagged and ready for sale

Once back at my apartment, I cannot find the motivation to explore any more of Chengdu, imagining instead that I am in the arms of my lovely wife in our cozy home in North Carolina.

About jamescmarch

A child of the '50's in rural Pennsylvania, an adolescent of the '60's in southern California, and a political activist of the 1970's in northern California, I have been a husband, a college graduate, an expert witness, a banker, a father, a software entrepreneur, and a philanthropist. Today, I follow my heart by writing.
This entry was posted in Chengdu, China, Sep-Nov 2016. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

