Sunday Thailand

Sunday, November 6, five days left.

Sailai took me down to the big market. I couldn’t stop taking pictures!

 

 

 

This large piece of machinery was the moveable form for constructing the new roadbed for the “skytrain,” Bangkok’s elevated train.

img_0741

We went to Ayutthaya, the old capital of Thailand, and visited Sailai’s house. I was surprised at the size of the kitchen, especially the great number of large pots! Sailai says they are for when they feed the monks.

When asked what I wanted to have for lunch, I immediately replied, “Pad Thai. A proper Pad Thai.” So we went down to the river, a restaurant I had eaten at before on my last visit.

It was delicious!

And I got to meet Tan’s new wife. They drove 1/2 hour just to have lunch with us. It was good to see Tan again. Only 17 last visit, he was now 24 and married.

 

After lunch we stopped by a couple monasteries. An older one:

 

 

And a newer one, dedicated to the King only a couple years ago. In the back were thousands of rooster statues, thank you gifts for wishes granted.

 

 

tmp_4849-20161106_144217-242203272

 

img_0771

Flower in Sailai’s House Garden

We drove back to Bangkok, and dropped me off at the airport. After such a wonderful trip, it is always hard to say goodbye. I promised to return.

img_0772

Bangkok Airport

 

About jamescmarch

A child of the '50's in rural Pennsylvania, an adolescent of the '60's in southern California, and a political activist of the 1970's in northern California, I have been a husband, a college graduate, an expert witness, a banker, a father, a software entrepreneur, and a philanthropist. Today, I follow my heart by writing.
This entry was posted in Chengdu, China, Sep-Nov 2016. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

