Bitter Melon Wednesday

Wednesday, October 19th, 23 days left

Answered e-mails. Thank you for all your e-mails! On days like yesterday and today it’s really nice to be able to sit down and read notes from friends and family. Thank you!

Worked on my Chinese. I found a new app for my phone, ChineseSkill. The U.S. site tells you to go to the Google app store, of course, which is blocked in China, of course. I successfully searched for the app in China using a Chinese search engine (Baidu), found a Chinese app store, downloaded and installed it!

The app is great! I spent over two hours going through vocabulary, grammar, pronunciation, and character writing exercises. I am finding writing Chinese characters to be very meditative, which reminds me, I haven’t meditated in quite a while. Time to stop doing something and just sit there 🙂

Worked on my blog. What has happened to my internet connection? I’m having to resend e-mails two and three times to get through, and WordPress is almost dead. What have I done to provoke the powers that be?

Made a nice dinner. I continue to have fun cooking with Sichuan ingredients. My latest concoction involves deep-fried tofu, bitter melon, tree fungus, topped with chopped “over hard” fried egg and sesame seeds.

Worked on the blog, again, but gave up after such bad response time and dropped connections. Time for bed (early tonight), after nice phone chats with my wife, my son, and my dad.

img_0468

Tofu with bitter melon, tree fungus, chopped fried egg, and a side of fingerling bananas

Save

About jamescmarch

A child of the '50's in rural Pennsylvania, an adolescent of the '60's in southern California, and a political activist of the 1970's in northern California, I have been a husband, a college graduate, an expert witness, a banker, a father, a software entrepreneur, and a philanthropist. Today, I follow my heart by writing.
This entry was posted in Chengdu, China, Sep-Nov 2016. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bitter Melon Wednesday

  1. Ken Piotrowski says:

    Well remember Jim it’s all those struggles that make everything that comes after them seem sweeter. It would be nice if life gave us things that just fell into place one after the other but that isn’t the way life is. It’s the struggles that make us stronger and without them life would be kind of mundane. I have noticed that your block now says how many days you have left which indicates to me you’re noticing the end of your trip instead of how many days you are into it and noticing the beginning of your adventure. You’re doing a great job and hitting new plateaus all the time you climb up another step. Enjoy the rest of your adventure I love you and I miss you

Comments

