Quiet Wednesday – Almost

Wednesday, October 5th, Day 20

Woke up late (11am) after a good night’s sleep. It was cooler today, but I stayed inside.

Searched for vegetarian restaurants in Chengdu.

Searched for Sichuan recipes (including one for sweet red bean buns 豆沙包 dou sha bao).

Sent e-mails to Reed College alums in China.

Sent e-mails to Chengdu restaurant reviewers for vegetarian restaurants.

Oh, and I forgot, I had a visitor: 一只老鼠: After I cleaned up the kitchen from dinner I turned off the light but left the kitchen door open to cool off the apartment. I set myself down at my desk in the living room to work on my blog. About 2 a.m. I heard the crinkle of plastic . I tip-toed over to the kitchen, and turned on the light. Nothing. Then, all of the sudden, a rat ran from under the sink, out the door, and hop-hop-hop-jumped off my balcony.

I had to smile. It was right out of the movie, Ratatouille. He was cute, but rats in an apartment building are a bad idea, so I’ll tell the manager tomorrow. It will give me a chance to remind her that the TV still isn’t working, and the light over my sink is out.

About jamescmarch

A child of the '50's in rural Pennsylvania, an adolescent of the '60's in southern California, and a political activist of the 1970's in northern California, I have been a husband, a college graduate, an expert witness, a banker, a father, a software entrepreneur, and a philanthropist. Today, I follow my heart by writing.
This entry was posted in Chengdu, China, Sep-Nov 2016. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

