Day Three

Woke up at 3:40am to the rain. Brought in my drying laundry. Went back to sleep until 7:30am.

You have to like honking horns in Chengdu. They’re used with the same frequency as we might use turn signals. Last year, during our tour of China I was told that in fact, honking WAS a turn signal: honking once for “turning left” and honking twice for “turning right”. I wonder if that is true? And does it actually help? In any case, I never have to set an alarm in the morning because the rush of people heading off to work means the honking starts around 7am. Note: Thursday, September 15th through Saturday, September 17th has been the Autumn Festival, with many people off work, so it has not been until this morning that I was reminded of my Chinese alarm clock.

It’s Sunday, but I think it’s a work day? Swept the apartment, thinking of Melissa. Put the left over rice in a bowl for tonight’s stir-fried rice dinner. Made myself a cup of Jasmine tea, pouring the hot water over the leaves from last night. That makes my third cup of tea from the same leaves. The tea wasn’t bad, but it’s beginning to taste bitter.

Got my first insect bite (mosquito?) this morning sitting writing at my computer without a shirt on.

Wrote in my journal until noon.

At 2:30pm, 2:40pm, and 2:50pm a civil defense siren went off for about 3 minutes each time, drowning out the car honking! I looked out the window, but nobody seemed worried.

Today it rained on and off all day. I stayed inside my apartment.

I looked on a GPS app that I downloaded and I think my coordinates are close to 30 deg 37 min 35 sec latitude and 104 deg 4 min 21 sec longitude. I can’t seem to find a map in English to see where these coordinates land.

About jamescmarch

A child of the '50's in rural Pennsylvania, an adolescent of the '60's in southern California, and a political activist of the 1970's in northern California, I have been a husband, a college graduate, an expert witness, a banker, a father, a software entrepreneur, and a philanthropist. Today, I follow my heart by writing.
This entry was posted in Chengdu, China, Sep-Nov 2016. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

